Science and Technology

in the News

News Center

Paper fiber simulation
// Recognition
An HPC for Manufacturing project aimed at saving time and money for paper product manufacturers earned an HPC Innovation Excellence Award at the 2017 SuperComputing Conference in Denver.
R&D 100 logo
// Recognition
Livermore researchers have captured seven 2017 R&D 100 awards from R&D magazine's top 100 industrial inventions worldwide.
Livermore HPCWire Editor's Choice award winners
// Recognition
At the 2017 SuperComputing Conference in Denver, Lawrence Livermore researchers took home two HPCwire Editor’s Choice awards for their work in applying high-performance computing (HPC) to solve complex challenges.
Lab equipment, logos
// S&T Highlights
The American Heart Association (AHA) and Lawrence Livermore have formed a strategic business partnership to overcome the burden of drug discovery, cost, and access.
Top 500 logo
// Press
In this podcast, the Radio Free HPC team reviews the latest TOP500 list in front of a live audience in Denver at SC17.
Image of Reis and Foster Medal
// Recognition
Foster Medal awarded to Victor H. Reis, 'architect' of Stockpile Stewardship Program
Three Livermore scientists honored
// Recognition
Three Lawrence Livermore National Laboratory scientists have been selected as 2017 fellows of the American Physical Society.
Examining a smaple of 3D printed steel
// S&T Highlights
Livermore researchers and their collaborators have achieved a breakthrough in 3D printing one of the most common forms of marine grade stainless steel—a low-carbon type called 316L—that promises an unparalleled combination of high-strength and high-ductility properties.
Four staff members of partnering organizations
// S&T Highlights
A new consortium will combine vast data stores, supercomputing, and scientific expertise to reinvent the discovery process for cancer medicines.
Constantin Haefner, program director for Advanced Photon Technology
// Recognition
Constantin Haefner, program director for Advanced Photon Technology (APT) at Lawrence Livermore National Laboratory, has been elected a fellow of The Optical Society of America.